

Available online at www.sciencedirect.com

Electronic Notes in Theoretical Computer Science

Electronic Notes in Theoretical Computer Science 96 (2004) 1-3

www.elsevier.com/locate/entcs

Foreword

The EXPRESS workshops aim at bringing together researchers interested in the relations between various formal systems, particularly in the field of Concurrency. More specifically, they focus on the comparison between programming concepts (such as concurrent, functional, imperative, logic and object-oriented programming) and between mathematical models of computation (such as process algebras, Petri nets, event structures, modal logics, rewrite systems etc.) on the basis of their relative expressive power.

For more information see http://express03.epfl.ch/.

The EXPRESS workshops were originally held as meetings of the HCM project EXPRESS, which was active with the same focus from January 1994 till December 1997. The first three workshops were held respectively in Amsterdam (1994, chaired by Frits Vaandrager), Tarquinia (1995, chaired by Rocco De Nicola), and Dagstuhl (1996, co-chaired by Ursula Goltz and Rocco De Nicola). The workshop in 1997, which took place in Santa Margherita Ligure and was co-chaired by Catuscia Palamidessi and Joachim Parrow, was organized as a conference with a call for papers and a significant attendance from outside the project. The 1998 workshop was held as a satellite workshop of the CONCUR'98 conference in Nice, co-chaired by Ilaria Castellani and Catuscia Palamidessi, and like on that occasion EXPRESS'99 was hosted by the CONCUR'99 conference in Eindhoven, co-chaired by Ilaria Castellani and Björn Victor. The EXPRESS'00 workshop was held as a satellite workshop of CONCUR 2000, Pennsylvania State University, USA, co-chaired by Luca Aceto and Björn Victor. The EXPRESS'01 workshop was held at BRICS. Aalborg University as a satellite of CONCUR'01 and was co-chaired by Luca Aceto and Prakash Panangaden. The EXPRESS'02 workshop was held at Brno University as a satellite of CONCUR'02 and was co-chaired by Uwe Nestmann and Prakash Panangaden.

Out of 29 submitted papers, nine were accepted for presentation at the

workshop; one of the nine accepted was a short paper submission, not intended for publication. These proceedings contain eight full papers as well as the abstract of the invited talk by Luca Aceto.

We thank the authors of the submitted papers, the invited speakers, and the members of the program committee for their contribution to both the meeting and this volume. Moreover, we also thank EPFL for the printing the preliminary proceedings, Michael Mislove for his kind help with the editing of both preliminary and final proceedings, the CONCUR organizing committee at the University of Provence at Marseille for hosting EXPRESS'03, and the workshop coordinator Silvano Dal-Zilio for further local organization.

Proceedings editors: Flavio Corradini (Univ. di L'Aquila, Italy) Uwe Nestmann (EPFL, Switzerland) December, 2003

EXPRESS'03 Programme Committee

Jos Baeten (Eindhoven Univ. of Technology, NL),

Michele Boreale (Univ. di Firenze, IT),

Flavio Corradini (Univ. di L'Aquila, IT),

Zoltan Esik (Univ. of Szeged, HU),

Wan Fokkink (CWI, NL),

Andrew Gordon (Microsoft Research, UK),

Irene Guessarian (Univ. Paris 6, FR),

Massimo Merro (Univ. di Verona, IT),

Michael Mislove (Tulane Univ., US),

Uwe Nestmann (EPFL, CH),
Catuscia Palamidessi (INRIA, FR),

Peter Sewell (Univ. of Cambridge, UK),

Alberto Vincentelli (Univ. of Berkeley, US),

Walter Vogler (Univ. of Augsburg, DE),

Igor Walukiewicz (Univ. of Bordeaux, FR).

EXPRESS'03 Additional Referees

Torben Amtoft, Andre Arnold, Elmar Bihler, Mikolaj Bojanczyk, Johannes Borgström, Patricia Bouyer, Roberto Bruni, Cristiano Calcagno, Marco Carbone, Gian-Luca Cattani, Marsha Chechik, Silvano Dal Zilio, Giuseppe Della Penna, Giorgio Delzanno, Maria Rita Di Berardini, Rik Eshuis, Maribel Fernandez, Rachele Fuzzati, Jamie Gabbay, Fabio Gadducci, Paul Gastin, Maria Grazia Vigliotti, Arie Gurfinkel, Keijo Heljanko, Claudio Hermida, Daniel Hirschkoff, Tony Hoare, Lin Huimin, Anna Ingolfsdottir, Josva Kleist, Alex Kondratjev, Rom Langerak, Kamal Lodaya, Michele Loreti, Bas Luttik, Sergio Maffeis, Marino Miculan, Kees Middelburg, Damian Niwinski, Joel Ouaknine, Rosario Pugliese, Antonio Ravara, Diletta Romana Cacciagrano, Davide Sangiorgi, Alan Schmitt, Natalia Sidorova, Jiri Srba, Enrico Tronci, Daniele Varacca, Marc Voorhoeve, Pascal Weil, Tim Willemse, Gianluigi Zavattaro, Pascal Zimmer.